

Международное Общество по маркшейдерскому делу

International Society for Mine Surveying

Internationale Gesellschaft für Markscheidewesen



Date: 04 July 2025

The ISM Executive ISM Presidium Meeting Krakow, Poland

RE: REPORT ON THE WORK OF THE INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY FOR MINE SURVEYING (ISM) COMMISSION 2: GEOMETRY OF MINERAL DEPOSITS/MINERAL RESOURCES MANAGEMENT

Committee Structure

This is the second report after Commission 2 was reconstituted at the 2023 ISM Presidium Meeting in China. The first report was prepared for the 2024 Presidium meeting in South Africa. Organisation of Commission 2 work is done by a smaller Working Group who organise Commission 2 meetings, facilitate meetings, produce minutes and do follow-up work in-between meetings. The members of the Working Group are:

- Prof. Fred Cawood: Chair
- Prof. Liu Zaibin: Co-Chair
- Ms Yujia Yang: Secretary (Resigned as Secretary in July 2024)
- Dr. Yingying Gong: Secretary (Appointed as Secretary from July 2024)
- Dr Guihong Li
- Dr Tao Fan
- Ms Xiaotian Jing
- Ms Jawed Zhao
- Dr Qiang Liu

Meetings

Since our last report dated 29 September 2024, Working Group meetings were held on:

- 04 November 2024
- 10 February 2025
- 10 March 2025
- 13 April 2025
- 19 May 2025
- 08 June 2025

There were two full Commission 2 meetings since our last report.

- 28 November 2024
- 29 May 2025

2 of 11

In addition to the Working Group members, active members of Commission II (surnames in alphabetical order) are:

- Prof. Hamid Ashraf (Pakistan)
- Mr. Alex Bals (South Africa)
- Dr. Ulziisaikhan Ganbold (Mongolia)
- Prof. Guoliang Chen (China)
- Prof. Qinghua Gu (China)
- Dr. Markus Mathey (Germany)
- Mr. Chris Moy (Australia)
- Prof. Axel Preuße (Germany)
- Prof. Simit Raval (Australia)
- Mr. Jurgens Visser (South Africa)
- Prof. Zhenxin Zhang (China)

The (full) meeting of 28 November 2024 was attended by 10 members. Countries represented in the meeting were (alphabetical order):

- Australia
- China
- Germany
- Mongolia
- South Africa

The following Agenda points were discussed:

- 1. Welcome and Apologies
- 2. Matters arising from previous Commission 2 meeting (29 August 2024)
- 3. Feedback from Presidium meeting in South Africa
- 4. Membership and Work of Commission 2 (Feedback from Members)
- 5. Technical presentations:
 - 1) Sustainable mine planning in Germany: 3D numerical modelling of mine excavations with focus on surface subsidence and environmental impact.(Dr M Mathey)
 - 2) What an AI-Powered Mining Organization means for ISM Commission II (F Cawood)
- 6. General

Copies of the presentations along with the minutes of the meeting were posted on the ISM website.

The meeting of 29 May 2025 was attended by 11 members. Countries represented in the meeting were (alphabetical order):

- Australia
- China
- Germany
- Mongolia
- Pakistan
- South Africa

The following Agenda points were discussed:

- 1. Welcome and Apologies
- 2. Matters arising from previous Commission 2 meeting (28 November 2024)
- 3. ISM Presidium Meeting 2025 and Scientific Seminar, Kraków, Poland, 6th to 8th July 2025
- 4. Membership and Work of Commission 2 (Feedback from Members)
- 5. Technical presentation: (30 max 40 minutes)
 - Matching mining sequence and process design to both deposit and market environment case study from a rock salt mine. (Dr M Mathey)
- 6. General

The presentation by Dr Mathey was well received and Commission members expressed gratitude to Dr. Mathey on a relevant topic. Several questions and a good technical discussion followed. Members advised that the format of having only one presentation worked well and that it allowed time for in-depth discussions. Copies of the presentations along with the minutes of the meeting were posted on the ISM website.

3 of 11

In conclusion, Commission 2 is an active commission of the ISM. We already have three members who volunteered to present at future meetings, which is testimony of an enthusiastic committee eager to build a repository of international leading practices on Geometry of Mineral Deposits/Mineral Resources Management practices.

Yours truly,

PROF.	FT C	AWOOD	

PROF. LIU ZAIBIN

CHAIR: ISM COMMISSION 2

CO-CHAIR: ISM COMMISSION 2